Single Abstract Noun is recruiting!

Fealen 2.0

Fealen in on Argent Dawn-US(A)

There are good ideas, great ideas and genius ideas. Tamarind had a genius idea. The creation of <Single Abstract Noun>, a “blogging community” guild that has grown to leaps and bounds in only a matter of days, at least the US/Oceanic side. Tamarind is across the pond on the Argent Dawn (EU) server blessing the Horde side with SAN, and MissMedicina is leading up the US/Oceanic side of the guild on Argent Dawn as well except it’s an Alliance guild. (Bleh) Some rules were established by Tam, they carry a certain humor at the same time setting guidelines that are easy to adhere to. I’ll copy and paste for your enjoyment:

The guild rules of Single Abstract Noun are as follows:

1. Anybody with even the vaguest passing interest in the blogging community is welcome – which is why it’s a blogging communities guild, not a bloggers’ guild.

2. Single Abstract Noun is a pantocracy – which means, not only that pants are encouraged, but it’s rule by all. The guild belongs to all who belong to it.

3. Use the guild however you like, as a meeting place, for conversation, for running the occasional dungeon, have a million alts, have a single character, whatever you like.

4. There are no rules about respecting other people because GODDAMN IT I’M TAKING THAT AS READ.

5. Leave your wowcock in the stand by the door.

Not just a blogger’s guild, pants mandatory (Why?) and no wowcocks. Fairly simple rule set, I think I can follow the rules. (I play a mage; no one can see my pant-less legs beneath my robe…hehehe) I get the feeling that bloggers and their dedicated readers are very much respectful and smart when it comes to being personable, thus makes this guild something everyone should enjoy.

Along with the guild, each server now has a new chat channel by the name of simpleabstractnoun. (From my own experience it’s only used as a catalyst for guild invites, we’ll see how things play out thou.) You just jump in the channel with a /join and speak up, soon a ninja guild invite will be *poofed* directly to your screen and you become one of the proud.

So on to experiences: I took the dive earlier yesterday afternoon, a Gnome Mage. I named him Fealen because it’s easier to interact in and out of game if the names match. I loaded him up watched the gnome video and plopped into the life of the great wizard Fealen, destined for awesomeness and a great portal dispenser. Sent out for my guild invite and was washed with “Welcome” and “Hi”. Within the 45 minutes I was on, there had to have been at least two dozen guild invites. I met some characters and put some names to blogs I read. A very positive experience.

After 10man ICC downed Dreamwalker (Yay!) I scurried back to do some more leveling on the mage and talk to people. Very friendly and I expect fun large things from this guild. I can see us holding RP parties and causing mischief, a good “get-away guild” it will be. I would like to find a way for both the NA/Oceanic and EU sides to have some fun together like message boards or a website, something to bring all the bloggers together. My next project involves getting everyone’s blog address and fixing it up on a spreadsheet so it’s easier to know who is who.

If you’d like to join <Single Abstract Noun>, hop on to either Argent Dawn-EU(H) or Argent Dawn-US(A) and /join singleabstractnoun and ask for a guild invite. You’ll be blown away, and make sure to put your blog address in the player note section so everyone can get to know your blog while they play alongside you.

Hopefully see you guys in game!

Tip: If you are forced to roll Alliance, pick a gnome. They are small and take up less screen space as to not take away from your actual game enjoyment. 😀

2 Comments

Filed under Blogosphere

2 responses to “Single Abstract Noun is recruiting!

  1. What is up with the pants requirement? That is SO unfair! Pants are too restrictive, to me. *sigh* Buuuut, if it’s a rule, I guess I must obey.

    *grumbles about pants*

Leave a Reply

