Everyone Needs Some Discipline….

In a un-WoW related story I got my “Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty” beta opt-in. Holy mackerel! It’s been what feels like centuries since I took Protan into a suicidal death mission versus a built up Zerg army. Time to reconfigure my muscle memory for macro spam! Yay!

And now back to your previously scheduled programming:

Discipline, what does it mean?

1. Training to act in accordance with rules

2. Activity, exercise, or a regimen that develops or improves a skill

3. Punishment inflicted by way of correction and training.

4. The rigor or training effect of experience, adversity, etc.

By this definition from Dictionary.com it appears as thou Disc priests are the “Training Priest”, the ones who go, “Okay, you’re invincible for the time being so making a mistake is okay, but learn from it quickly because I can’t protect you again for 15 seconds” That kind of training is good, it teaches others what to look out for without having to go chaotic because “Oh no! BLUE STUFF!” A small buffer for the uninformed, just what the doctor prescribed.

This definition also weaves another picture of what a Disc Priest is. “Activity, exercise, or a regimen that develops or improves a skill” is what #2 says. A disc priest does this, to a point. When single target healing and even 5man heals I typically find myself going through a rotation/checklist of things I’m doing in a prioritized pattern. Is Renewed Hope up? Are the DPS bubbled? Where is Prayer of Mending? Is Penance up? I have become so routine to these things that I feel I am a expert in smooth Disco practices.

Upon writing those two paragraphs my direction of the post has changed in my head drastically. I was going to cause ripples with my holy cousins about stepping up to the plate and finding a purpose in their ways. Instead I now have an image of Discipline priests being veterans of healing, keen in the art of keeping comrades alive, who has retired from the frontlines to teach up-and-coming healers the ideas and theories of saving your party members. Disc Priests, we march to the tune of a haggard war veteran.

Haggard War Veteran

A Discipline Priest? I don't think so.

Good Luck in Azeroth!

Tip: [Party][*Tank’s Name*]: 112342341234 is usually what you see in party chat right after a DPS dies from pulling from your tank.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fealen

Leave a Reply

