I need to communicate something to you……

Situation: I jumped in a half <Revenged>, half PuG ToC10 just for fun. Someone in guild asked for DPS and I was doing nothing so I figured “Why not?” The group had a wide range of gear, from me in my ICC25 duds to a couple rogues in what might have been badge gear. I know we had 5 people at least that knew the fights so we would have a chance of success.

The Raid Comp:

2 Boomkins (1 was me)

1 Shadow Priest

2 Rogues

1 Tankadin

1 Death Tank

1 Tree

2 Healadins

The Warning Signs: Only 2 ranged took out snobolds, the DPS standing in front of worms when they were kited, Icehowl enraging twice cause people got hit. That was the first fight, here’s the second: People going out of range with the healing debuff, not running with legion flame, only 2 ranged on adds. Faction Champs was a push over, seriously….it was like they were level 10 and we stomped on their quest zone.

The Climax: We get to Twins and people grab their essences, one rogue picked the wrong one so they were told to grab the correct one. Instead of grabbing one of the portals in the back a rogue went straight for the bosses to grab on of those portals. WIPE. We regroup and again one of the rogues doesn’t have the right essence. Same scenario, but a different rogue, he’s the only one that died this time thou.

At this point the raid leader pipes up, “Never been in here before?” when both rogues both say “Yes”. /facepalm

I don’t care about gear scores of DPS; I have no problem with people being holier-than-thou as long as it isn’t causing a wipe. (I was pushing 5.5-6k, followed by the 3k SP, we weren’t beasting this place at all :-P) My pet peeve in PuGs is lack of communication. This is an MMO: Massively Multiplayer Online.

So who needs to communicate in this scenario? Well I believe 2 parties are at fault here, the DPS that had never been in there along with the raid leader that didn’t ask if everyone knew the fights. The DPS, even if in whisper, should have said something upon being invited. Fight explanations aren’t that complicated in ToC, raid awareness and melee jobs aren’t that demanding, the raid leader could have atleast been like “Rogues: attack this, do this when this happens and don’t die” and I think these rogues would have gotten it.

I don’t see it so much on my druid because I do guild only stuff with him, but on my priest I PuG raids every chance I get. The number of times that the tanks just pull without telling the rest of the raid how/where they are tanking the boss is higher than it should be. Most of the time I get into guild/friend pugs and I’m the lone man out on strategies so I have learned to wing it, but I shouldn’t have to.

Back to ToC; after the simplest of explanations the rogues got their stuff together and we did fine. Pushed Twins down without any hassle, and one-shotted Anub (with only one burrow, and only killed two adds) and walked out with our loot.

With the number of new people pushing toons to 80 before Cataclysm it won’t hurt to take 5 minutes before a pull is made and inquire to whether everyone knows the fight or not. These new players are going to be our raiding base when the level cap raises so training them well now will save us some suffering in the end, and it will concrete some friendships if they do their job right.

Unrelated-to-post-news: <Revenged> is stuck at 8.981/12 in ICC25. We had Putricide down to 1.9% on Tuesday night. We had 748k separating us from being between 6th and 4th on our server in Horde progression. I’m really proud of our group and believe he is definitely on life support, he had his notice last week. I can’t wait for Tuesday night!

Good Luck in Azeroth!

Tip: Time your Starfalls correctly by boomkin brethren. Rotworms do nasty things to our fur

4 Comments

Filed under Fealen

4 responses to “I need to communicate something to you……

  1. We have this same issue in our own 25. People feel like if they already have seen the content it should not be explained again. As a raid leader I like to refresh the explanation on the boss every time, it take a minute and saves 10 of rebuffing and running back. ToC is a great example… you see green fire (or an X over your head) run towards the wall, you see a skull, stay in place or run towards a healer.

    Some people need visual ques, some others need to be told to move out of the fire, whatever is, you are correct… communication is the key. When in a pug, always ask, everyone knows this place right?

  2. Tam

    God, I know what you mean. I actually think there’s some kind of hidden competition that most pugees are participating in (and I haven’t been told about it): basically you get points the LESS you communicate. I don’t know what you win though; regardless, it drives me nuts.

    • Whats even worse is when there is no communication and then the RL ninja’s something. No ground to stand on. Maybe lack of communication works in the favor of ninja’s. They are quieter than silence anyway.

  3. We have this same issue in our own 25. People feel like if they already have seen the content it should not be explained again. As a raid leader I like to refresh the explanation on the boss every time, it take a minute and saves 10 of rebuffing and running back. ToC is a great example… you see green fire (or an X over your head) run towards the wall, you see a skull, stay in place or run towards a healer.
    +1

Leave a Reply

